Welcome to summer!

by MeUandMaddy

Well, last Tuesday, M finished first grade! FIRST GRADE! Next, she’ll be going into grad school, stop the madness! I know this is so cliche, but where did the time go? My baby is such a big girl now, still a pain in my tookus as usual, but my baby girl nonetheless.

Nothing new to report…I guess no news is always good news, especially for my dad’s end. He goes to see Dr. S, his oncologist mid July and I’ll go with him to this one. I’m not sure if I can handle it, but I have to pull up my big girl undie-pants and just GO. He will get his MRI and a CT scan w/out contrast to see if any of the tumors came back to his liver. I continue to pray, that’s pretty much all I can do at this point. He is happy, seemingly healthy, and in good spirits…what more can we ask for?

Cancer really does suck. Mirt’s close friend has breast cancer and she’s been fighting it for a few months now. She’s doing chemo and radiation, and hopefully she’ll surpass this tough time in her life. Her coworkers at the Sheriff’s office held a fundraiser in her honor on Friday and we were lucky enough to go. We had a great time and Myra looked amazing, she is one tough cookie. When her sister gave the speech, I couldn’t hold it in anymore, even though we are not close friends, to see another woman, another human being suffer and go through this is heart breaking. I pray she overcomes this hurdle, I want to tell her so much that she doesn’t have to be strong all the time, that it is ok and even important to fall apart sometimes…but I don’t know her that well, so I don’t want to overstep the boundries. I can only support her and pray for her and her family.

On a lighter note, a friend of mine from Manchester came to NYC for her second visit this past week. While I’ve never met her in real life – I met her online through the magic of our common denominator, romance novels – it was AWESOME to finally meet in person. As M & I were heading out to the city to meet them, she asked me, “How did you meet her?” SIGH…here comes the sticky conversation. How do I tell a 7 yr. old that I met this stranger online and now we are going to meet in person?! Tread carefully…

I told her the truth, that we met online because we started talking about books and ended up loving the same books…and that it is ok to meet her because, one – I am an adult, and two, we are meeting in the middle of the busiest damn street in all of the small island of Manhattan. But for good measures, I told her sternly, but you don’t ever do this! She laughs…

I met Suz and her awesome sister. We went to Central Park Zoo and then to Wholefoods for lunch, J met up with us after lunch and drove us back to their hotel.  It was a zillion degrees on Saturday, I took the to the zoo via the train but we hopped in a f’ing cab going from the zoo to 96th because I was NOT going to trek back down into the hellholes of the city to catch the train. And you know, between the 4 of us, it was only $2.50 more! It cost me a $10 MetroCard and a LOT of sweat to schelp us in the f’ing heat from 42nd to 59th! After the zoo we were just famished, so I stopped the next cab and we all packed ourselves in, I didn’t care if it cost $30, I was not getting on the train and f’ing transferring! Hell no. BUT, my beautiful UK girls got to go on the subway, see an awesome little zoo, eat yummo foods at Wholefoods AND Mister Softee and ride the NYC crazy cabs all in one day. Who says I’m not a good hostest/tour guide?! Hmph!

I love Central Park Zoo!

I love Central Park Zoo!

This poor, miserable Polar Bear. It must have been 95 degrees and he just looks sad. It broke my heart to see him so sad…gives me mixed feelings about zoos and aquariums…

When we went back to her hotel, Suz gave me a bag of goodies, I swear, M & I are SOOO uber spoiled. My friend (another online friend, mind you) from Ireland sends us packages filled with goodies and now Suz schlepped from the UK a big ol’ bag of goodies for all of us! I am one blessed girl. It was an awesome weekend, but we were famished.

Since summer has started, I did get to read A TON! I don’t get to write reviews for each one, but I do read and rate them on GoodReads. And I have to say, I’ve been pretty darn lucky because I’ve read some great ones so far! I have to add a couple to my TBR list because Suz recommended a few to me during out visit, so I will be reading a whole lot more, woo hoo!

I did recently finish a book that was sent to me, it was a beautiful story, it’s not smut, lol – it’s a beautiful romance and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Beside Your HeartBeside Your Heart by Mary Whitney

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this in a matter of hours, I couldn’t put it down! What is it about UK boys that always grab my attention (and my heart)?! Beside Your Heart was so well written, and the story was so…REAL, that it wiggled its way into my heart and staked a claim. Because it shares with us their teenage years, I was worried I wouldn’t like it, but their dialog, the events, and their heart wrenching realities made it such an amazing story that I forget they were in high school! I always say it, but I LOVE when a book can make my heart squeeze and gives me that – annoying lump in my throat threatening to start crying – feeling and Beside Your Heart definitely evoked them.

View all my reviews

