Tau Sigma, and prepping for finals, and tricky tray, oh my!

by MeUandMaddy

I’m so damn proud of myself, it’s only been FOUR, count them FOUR days since my last blog…woohoo! That’s a record, I believe. So, a quick blurb about me: I am a mom, check. I am a wife, check. And, I am a student, check. As much as I love my many hats, there are a few  many days where I feel utterly defeated and useless. While I wear these hats proudly, I am damn tired. I am always on the run, always need to be somewhere at sometime doing something.

But there are rare moments when I am forced to stop and realize, how amazing my life is. I know everyone has problems, as we all have our daily stressors and even huge life changing events…we ALL have them. I whine about being tired and whine about not having enough time, and I whine about being either a shitty mom, wife, or student. Well…yesterday evening, I was reminded that while I juggle these crazy tasks, it is not all in vain. A few months ago, I was invited to join Tau Sigma for SAS at Rutgers. I didn’t think much of it, of course when I Googled it, there’s a bunch of random information and some even saying it’s a scam (eek!). But I joined anyway, I figured at this point, I can use anything I can to help improve my CV. Then last night, I went to the induction. It was actually, quite fun. I was allowed to bring two guests, of course, I brought my two rocks…J & M. M, as usual was the youngest attendee at any of these Rutgers functions. She dressed up, and sat like a lady. I was so proud of my baby, as she was proud of me for being an inductee. I didn’t know how to explain Tau Sigma to M, being 7 years old, honor societies are as confusing as the Greek letters they display. So my short and sweet explanation? “They’re giving mommy an award certificate for being so damn awesome in school.” Short and sweet, right? She got it, and was mega proud, and was happily eating her plate of cheese and fruit. But it was this event that made me realize, I can do this. If I just stop fucking around and get my priorities straight, I wouldn’t feel so overwhelmed, perhaps…and I can focus more and it wouldn’t be so hard. I complain it’s hard because I am just spread thin, but last night, the ceremony made me see, if I could walk away on my first transfer semester with a 3.75 GPA with all the craziness I had going on, I can continue to strive for better IF I get my shit together. Sigh…easier said than done, but I will continue to try. So, last night was nice, it was a nice “stop and smell the roses” sort of moment. Then, we invited my parents out to dinner with us, which is always a nice bonus (no cooking!).

I have about another week of classes and I’ll be done with this semester. This was a rough one, I don’t know if it’s the heavy load of psych classes or the nicer weather making me antsy but I am jones’ing to be done. I have finals in two weeks so wish me luck. I’m not a good test taker, so my anxiety level will be through the roof…yay.

Jay has been helping me with the Tricky Tray program for M’s school. He’s been awesome, it’s not easy and he just took it over like a champ! Even picked up all 400 printed programs for me…all I had to do was deliver it this morning to her school (which nearly strained my muscle! FOUR HUNDRED 30 sheet programs are not light) – but M did help me carry a few along the way. My baby and her helpful ways. But Tricky Tray is tonight and I’ve never attended one. I volunteered last year to help for an hour and then I left afterwards. This year, I’m going to do my hour of selling raffle tickets and actually staying to enjoy the fun. So, I’m excited! I hope I get to win a goody, we received some GREAT prize donations this year and I can’t wait to see who wins what! How fun!!!

I’m off…again…have to get some errands done before picking up M from Odyssey Club, dropping her off at my parents then getting ready for Tricky Tray tonight!

Peace, love, and happiness to you!

